tv signal booster - any advice?
Old 07-13-2009, 02:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
I believe in Masai!

giant steps

 
'trane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16,558
Representing:
Default tv signal booster - any advice?

looking for advice gents...

i have an hd tv in my living room and 3 other older sets in my house. the main set is the only one with an hd signal, although 2 of the other 3 have hd capability.

anyways, i currently have a 3-way splitter that degrades the signal to all tv's, and i want to hook up the 4th tv (my in-laws are in town and i want to put an old set in their bedroom). i'm worried about the signal degrading even further, so i was thinking of buying a signal booster.

a couple of questions:

-do the boosters actually work? what would i look for to make sure i get a good one?
-can i split the incoming line 4 ways and still get a decent signal?
-can i split my signal before it gets to the hd box so that i can get hd to the other sets besides my main one? if so, do i boost it before it gets to the hd box or afterwards?

anyone know about this stuff?

dudes?

thanks in advance.
'trane is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 02:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
blah!

nosce te ipsum


 
fancylad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: east side.
Posts: 14,625
Representing:
Default

not sure man. Trying to remember my parents place. I think we had 3 TVs just running off a split cable and it didn't degrade the signal that much.

Also, wouldn't the signal only lose quality if all the TVs were being watched at the same time?

really not sure about the HD stuff.
fancylad is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 02:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
is dead inside

you ain't bout that life
 
Gurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21,043
Representing:
Default

I have 3 TV's and the quality is fine. I have no clue how my cousin did it though
Gurk is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 03:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
I believe in Masai!

giant steps

 
'trane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16,558
Representing:
Default

you don't have any tv's gurkie, your dad does... just kidding...

anyone have any actual advice? thrills? cling? i know you dudes have some knowldege about this stuff...

anyone?
'trane is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 03:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
is back baby

Large and in charge
 
Snooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: All up in there
Posts: 8,160
Representing:
Default

A splitter is alway going to reuce the signal quality.

A signal Booster is a waste of money, once the stream coming through the lines is reduced it cannot be brought back properly I am afraid.

Best bet is to use 2-2 way splitters as opposed to 1-3way. It will actually reduce your signal less than using a 3 way.
Snooch is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 03:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
I believe in Masai!

giant steps

 
'trane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16,558
Representing:
Default

so aplit the signal and the split it again with another 2-way??? that's still only going to give me 3 terminations...

and can't the booster come before the splits, thereby boosting it before it is degraded by the splitter?
'trane is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 03:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
is back baby

Large and in charge
 
Snooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: All up in there
Posts: 8,160
Representing:
Default

I am assuming you have digital cable, and if you do you can split it with a 2 way at the box where it comes into the house, there is always a filter connection there.

If you have sattelite the back of your receiver should have a coaxial outlet hookup.
Not sure if digital cable boxes do as I live in the sticks and all we have is boonie vision.
Snooch is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 03:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
I believe in Masai!

giant steps

 
'trane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16,558
Representing:
Default

digital cable...
'trane is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 03:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
is praying Ross makes us forget Drummomd so people stop whining

Senior Member
 
jeffb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: YO MAMMA
Posts: 73,199
Representing:
Quote:
Originally Posted by 'trane View Post
so aplit the signal and the split it again with another 2-way??? that's still only going to give me 3 terminations...

and can't the booster come before the splits, thereby boosting it before it is degraded by the splitter?



You lost me at hello.
jeffb is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 03:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
is back baby

Large and in charge
 
Snooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: All up in there
Posts: 8,160
Representing:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 'trane View Post
so aplit the signal and the split it again with another 2-way??? that's still only going to give me 3 terminations...

and can't the booster come before the splits, thereby boosting it before it is degraded by the splitter?
Alway use another 2 way again.

Keep a line straight to your good TV, split that one to your next best etc, so your oldest TV ends up with the worst picture and your best TV with the least interupted signal.
Snooch is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 03:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
I believe in Masai!

giant steps

 
'trane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16,558
Representing:
Default

problem is that the coaxial cable runs through the walls to terminations in each room. i can split it in my basement, but once it goes in the walls i can't split it again...
'trane is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 03:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
is back baby

Large and in charge
 
Snooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: All up in there
Posts: 8,160
Representing:
Default

And I still think that boosters are a waste of money, for what you would spend you wouldnt really notice any difference in the picture, at least in my experience that is what I have learned.


Better of buying the best splitters you can find(gold coated connections like monster cables)
Snooch is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 03:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
is back baby

Large and in charge
 
Snooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: All up in there
Posts: 8,160
Representing:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 'trane View Post
problem is that the coaxial cable runs through the walls to terminations in each room. i can split it in my basement, but once it goes in the walls i can't split it again...
Well then no problem, Where the cable comes in the house there should be a main line coming in from outside and from there it will go to all the rooms, there are filters inserted in the lines leading to the different rooms, If you can get at where the wires come in(usually on top of a panel box) you should be able to find not only the main coax from the outside but also the inline filters.
Snooch is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mitchell has advice for Triano Acie Toronto Raptors 42 12-08-2009 10:19 PM
Need some advice regarding seating Rory C Toronto Raptors 6 01-07-2008 09:17 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright RaptorsForum.com 2005-2011

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24