Smartphone users... I need to make a decision. - Page 11
Old 10-21-2012, 12:25 AM   #201 (permalink)
streets ahead.

Senior Member
 
SomeDPlease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,780
Representing:
Default

In a decade or two it'll be something else.
SomeDPlease is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 12:38 AM   #202 (permalink)
N64
not here

Wildcard Bitches
 
N64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7,616
Representing:
Default

I'm gonna guess tablets with 3D displays.
N64 is online now   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 12:42 AM   #203 (permalink)
streets ahead.

Senior Member
 
SomeDPlease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,780
Representing:
Default

Bill Gates recently said that in a few years people will be wondering how humans were ever able to use those ancient looking things called "screens".
SomeDPlease is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 05:25 PM   #204 (permalink)
streets ahead.

Senior Member
 
SomeDPlease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,780
Representing:
Default

Nexus 4 available from the Play Store for $299 starting Nov. 13. No LTE though, but this is without a doubt the best bang for your buck phone. It's not even close.

https://play.google.com/store/device...UyODMyNzI1OCJd
SomeDPlease is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:37 PM   #205 (permalink)
the next dictator of MLSE

fresh and clean
 
Windex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: uʍop ɹǝpun
Posts: 22,524
Representing:
Default



Windex is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:03 PM   #206 (permalink)
N64
not here

Wildcard Bitches
 
N64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7,616
Representing:
Default

You think 8GB and 16GB are enough? I wanted to get the Note 2 but there hasn't been a lot of information on plans and pricing for the 32/64GB models in Canada. Plus I'm thinking the Note might end up being a little too big.

For $359, I'd pick up the 16GB model with the idea of using it till next summer and selling it afterward and getting something new. The build quality of the Nexus also looks a lot cleaner and sturdier than the plastic exteriors Android phones usually have.
N64 is online now   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:35 PM   #207 (permalink)
@ www.raptorman.ca

RF Affiliate

 
Raptorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,146
Representing:
Send a message via MSN to Raptorman
Default

Hard to believe it doest take a micro sd card. The 2 gigs ram is sweet.
Raptorman is online now   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 10:24 PM   #208 (permalink)
streets ahead.

Senior Member
 
SomeDPlease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,780
Representing:
Default

16 GB is what I have right now and I'm only using about 7 GB of it. So maybe someone COULD cut it with 8 GB (actually everyone can if they swap out files when needed and/or if they use the cloud often), it's all up to how you'll use your phone.

Google is really pushing for everyone to use cloud storage, which is why we haven't seen a Nexus device with microsd since the Nexus One (2010).

Windows 8 lis ooking good too, but it has a very small app selection at the moment. But it's on the right track.

Here is a in-depth video talking about the Nexus 4 and Nexus 10.

SomeDPlease is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 02:45 PM   #209 (permalink)
N64
not here

Wildcard Bitches
 
N64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7,616
Representing:
Default

picked up a Rogers 64gb 4s. Used the gevey sim to have it unlocked and i'm using my Bell sim in it now. But Safari's not working, I do have data on my plan.

I need to change the APN but don't know how to. Phone's not jailbroken yet, my carrier under General-About says Rogers 12.1, iOS 5.1.1

Anyone know how I change the Rogers 12.1 to Bell? Thanks
N64 is online now   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 12:43 AM   #210 (permalink)
N64
not here

Wildcard Bitches
 
N64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7,616
Representing:
Default

Got it setup. Invested $250 in the phone, happy with my purchase.
N64 is online now   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 01:17 AM   #211 (permalink)
is all bout dat life

Can't knock the Hustle
 
Nites's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 14,288
Representing:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N64 View Post
Got it setup. Invested $250 in the phone, happy with my purchase.
Can't believe you sold out on Android. I'm disappointed to say the least.
Nites is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 02:47 AM   #212 (permalink)
N64
not here

Wildcard Bitches
 
N64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7,616
Representing:
Default

My first smartphone was an IPhone 3G and I passed on the 4. I was considering the Nexus 4 a lot but the 5-6 week wait wasn't worth it. After jail breaking my iPhone, it isn't a bad device imo, huge upgrade over my BB torch and I can play around with it a bit.
N64 is online now   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 02:50 AM   #213 (permalink)
N64
not here

Wildcard Bitches
 
N64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7,616
Representing:
Default

Plus I have my Touchpad with ICS.
N64 is online now   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 03:19 AM   #214 (permalink)
and a 1, and a 2, and a 1,2,3,4!

Senior Member
 
pzabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: toronto
Posts: 6,931
Representing:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N64 View Post
Plus I have my Touchpad with ICS.
all the more reason to get an android phone...

Iphone's features are much, much too limited for me. once I switched to android, every Iphone carrier I saw around me pissed me off
pzabby is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 03:31 PM   #215 (permalink)
@ www.raptorman.ca

RF Affiliate

 
Raptorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,146
Representing:
Send a message via MSN to Raptorman
Default

Fido just got the S3 this morning!! Ordered it. $100 after using my Fido dollars. LO LO LO!!
Raptorman is online now   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 05:13 PM   #216 (permalink)
"Fake All-Star"

Senior Member
 
TORaptor4Ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16,376
Representing:
Default

Dang... this thread blew up! Ha.

Still happy with my I-Phone 4S.
TORaptor4Ever is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 06:01 AM   #217 (permalink)
is all bout dat life

Can't knock the Hustle
 
Nites's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 14,288
Representing:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TORaptor4Ever View Post
Dang... this thread blew up! Ha.

Still happy with my I-Phone 4S.
I'm still good with my Galaxy S1.

Last edited by Nites; 12-25-2012 at 06:04 AM.
Nites is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 08:03 AM   #218 (permalink)
@ www.raptorman.ca

RF Affiliate

 
Raptorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,146
Representing:
Send a message via MSN to Raptorman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nites View Post
I'm still good with my Galaxy S1.
Thats the best part of this iPhone vs Android debate.

The iP5 has similar specs to the Galaxy S2! Maybe the iP5s will catch up to the S3. A year later.

My guess is the S1 is close to the iP4. Both are still fine units.
Raptorman is online now   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 06:50 PM   #219 (permalink)
is all bout dat life

Can't knock the Hustle
 
Nites's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 14,288
Representing:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptorman View Post
Thats the best part of this iPhone vs Android debate.

The iP5 has similar specs to the Galaxy S2! Maybe the iP5s will catch up to the S3. A year later.

My guess is the S1 is close to the iP4. Both are still fine units.
Small comparison

S1 - 1GHz Single Core Processor, 512MB RAM, 5.0MP Camera, 4.0" Display
S2 - 1.5GHz Dual Core Processor, 1GB RAM, 8.0MP Camera, 4.3" Display
S3 - 1.5GHz Dual Core Processor, 2GB RAM. 8.0MP Camera, 4.8" Display

IP4 - 1GHz Cortex-A8, 512MB RAM, 5.0MP Camera, 3.5" Display
IP4S - 1GHz Dual Core Cortex-A9, 512MB RAM, 8.0MP Camera, 3.5" Display
IP5 - 1.2GHz Dual Core Processor, 1GB RAM, 8.0MP Camera, 4.0" Display
Nites is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 10:28 PM   #220 (permalink)
streets ahead.

Senior Member
 
SomeDPlease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,780
Representing:
Default

The iPhone 5 still performs higher in benchmarks than the S3 while having "inferior" hardware though because Apple is able to optimize it's hardware with iOS (everything is in-house besides the manufacturing), while Android handsets don't have that luxury.
SomeDPlease is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright RaptorsForum.com 2005-2011

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24