Raptors Forum | Toronto Raptors Forums & Message Boards

Raptors Forum | Toronto Raptors Forums & Message Boards (http://www.raptorsforum.com/f/)
-   Entertainment Lounge (http://www.raptorsforum.com/f/f9/)
-   -   Question about a self-pass (aka travelling) in streetball (http://www.raptorsforum.com/f/f9/question-about-self-pass-aka-travelling-streetball-20977.html)

ClutchCity 08-22-2011 08:52 PM

Question about a self-pass (aka travelling) in streetball
 
Okay, I'm pretty sure about this rule but I need some confirmation. I know obviously you can't throw the ball in the air and just catch it without it touching the backboard, rim, or another player. That's an easy travel call. However, I was playing streetball today and got in a heated argument when I was driving from the left side and air-balled a runner but caught it in the air from the other side and scored. The ball went over the rim so I would consider it a shot attempt (and it was a legit shot attempt and not a dishonest attempt to gain some type of advantage). We didn't count the basket and my team still won, but I still want to know: is that a legal play?

XiaominWu 08-22-2011 09:31 PM

I'm pretty sure I've seen this discussion before and I believe your basket was legal.... I think the only place that is ruled a travel is the NBA.

ClutchCity 08-22-2011 09:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by XiaominWu (Post 566921)
I'm pretty sure I've seen this discussion before and I believe your basket was legal.... I think the only place that is ruled a travel is the NBA.

Actually, I heard that the NBA changed the rule on that just this last year. It also judgement-based though. For example, if I did the same move but made it clear that I was trying to gain an advantage by "shooting" it over the rim (but really passing it), then it would be called a travel. But if it was a legit shot attempt, then it's legal even in the NBA.

J-Bo 08-22-2011 09:42 PM

Its a self pass if you air ball it and get your own rebound without anyone touching it.

ClutchCity 08-22-2011 09:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by J-Bo (Post 566924)
Its a self pass if you air ball it and get your own rebound without anyone touching it.

But the question is, it is a self pass if the ball goes over the rim? When I say over the rim, I mean from the left side to right or vice-versa without touching anything.

J-Bo 08-22-2011 09:51 PM

Hmm...I would think so lol..i seen it called a lot by players on the varsity basket ball players so i always assumed it was

Superjudge 08-22-2011 09:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ClutchCity (Post 566922)
Actually, I heard that the NBA changed the rule on that just this last year. It also judgement-based though. For example, if I did the same move but made it clear that I was trying to gain an advantage by "shooting" it over the rim (but really passing it), then it would be called a travel. But if it was a legit shot attempt, then it's legal even in the NBA.

yep.

it has to be a shot attempt. its rally effin hard to fake it. some can, but very few.

Street ball kids have no idea how ridiculous they look trying to pull that off, really bad. So you get the big arguments.

Its a hard play to master, and a difficult one to call at the highest levels

th3answ3r 08-22-2011 10:16 PM

Wait why did they call it on you in a streetball game? If you use NBA rules, its a travel.

ClutchCity 08-23-2011 12:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by th3answ3r (Post 566944)
Wait why did they call it on you in a streetball game? If you use NBA rules, its a travel.

I forgot to mention that I was playing this game for money. So yeah, we played NBA rules, I guess I shouldn't have used the term "streetball". But like I said in my post above, I heard it legal now in the NBA.

th3answ3r 08-23-2011 12:29 PM

Oh that's cool. If you play for $, I'd confirm the rules before playing.

js12 08-23-2011 08:55 PM

Guess it varies from people-to-people. If I were ref, I would rule that legal. But where I play, people would call self on that.

Kuzzy 08-24-2011 04:43 AM

Travel aka "self in street ball terms. Simply put, if it's an air ball, regardless of where it goes up and lands, you cannot touch it.

ClutchCity 08-24-2011 05:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kuzzy (Post 567177)
Travel aka "self in street ball terms. Simply put, if it's an air ball, regardless of where it goes up and lands, you cannot touch it.

That's not true. I asked another one of my buddies and he says he remembered watching a game where they discussed this very play and what I did is perfectly legal even in the NBA. The rule was enforced a couple years back.

Toby 08-24-2011 05:38 AM

can't catch your own airball, period. It's gotta hit something, partial block, backboard, it's gotta hit something besides the air or net. I don't care what Lebron James may think. There's no crab dribble, and no catching your own shot. Try that in Oregon, see how far you get.

ClutchCity 08-24-2011 02:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toby (Post 567182)
can't catch your own airball, period. It's gotta hit something, partial block, backboard, it's gotta hit something besides the air or net. I don't care what Lebron James may think. There's no crab dribble, and no catching your own shot. Try that in Oregon, see how far you get.

I'm 100% sure this is allowed in NCAA.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright RaptorsForum.com 2005-2011


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24