I need help!!! (ps3 wireless)
Old 07-16-2009, 10:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Captain of the Jamario Moon fan club.

Born Unready
 
Dark Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Electric Avenue
Posts: 15,473
Representing:
Default I need help!!! (ps3 wired connection)

Okay, I'm trying to get wireless internet from my PS3, but I'm having some trouble. Could somebody walk me through it, please.

EDIT: Now I can't get the wired connection

Last edited by Dark Knight; 07-17-2009 at 11:51 AM.
Dark Knight is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 10:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
hibernating

Retired Administrator
 
Benzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,290
Representing:
Default

Details?

I'm assuming you have a wireless router.

Is it WEP, WAP, or not protected at all?
Benzo is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 10:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
@ www.raptorman.ca

RF Affiliate

 
Raptorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,120
Representing:
Send a message via MSN to Raptorman
Default

No problem.

Reach behind your PS3 and find the cable attached to the wall. This is called a "power cord". Give a good hard pull until it disconnects from the wall.

NOW GO THE FRICK OUTSIDE AND ENJOY OUR 2 MONTHS OF SUNSHINE THAT WE GET IN THIS GODFORSAKEN LAND!!!!
Raptorman is online now   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 10:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Captain of the Jamario Moon fan club.

Born Unready
 
Dark Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Electric Avenue
Posts: 15,473
Representing:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptorman View Post
No problem.

Reach behind your PS3 and find the cable attached to the wall. This is called a "power cord". Give a good hard pull until it disconnects from the wall.

NOW GO THE FRICK OUTSIDE AND ENJOY OUR 2 MONTHS OF SUNSHINE THAT WE GET IN THIS GODFORSAKEN LAND!!!!
lol

Benz, I think I'll give up. I don't have a wireless router and I don't know what the fuck the difference between a WEP and a WAP.
Dark Knight is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 10:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
hibernating

Retired Administrator
 
Benzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,290
Representing:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Knight View Post
lol

Benz, I think I'll give up. I don't have a wireless router and I don't know what the fuck the difference between a WEP and a WAP.
Step 1-get a wireless router from best buy, it will cost you $30 bucks.
Benzo is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 10:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Captain of the Jamario Moon fan club.

Born Unready
 
Dark Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Electric Avenue
Posts: 15,473
Representing:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benzo View Post
Step 1-get a wireless router from best buy, it will cost you $30 bucks.
Ahh fuck.

Okay, step 1 may take awhile. Check back at December 25
Dark Knight is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 10:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Captain of the Jamario Moon fan club.

Born Unready
 
Dark Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Electric Avenue
Posts: 15,473
Representing:
Default

Okay, just for kicks, what is step 2?
Dark Knight is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 12:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
is dead inside

you ain't bout that life
 
Gurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21,059
Representing:
Default

LOL you don't have a wireless router and you are trying to set up PS3 wireless. Anyways step 2 would be to actually set up your wireless router and then go onto the PS3, go to Wireless/Interent settings or something and then find your internet connection. Then have fun playing. Also, try and steal the wireless connection from one of your neighbors. I do that when my internet is down XD
Gurk is online now   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 12:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
is in the cut

Senior Member
 
Stonezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8,899
Representing:
Default

Lol, yeah you need a wireless router unless your modem is close to your PS3 then you could just plug the ethernet cable in the back of the PS3. Try using the WiFi to scan for connections that are around you and hope for an unprotected connection.
Stonezz is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 03:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
BOOBS

never too old.


 
INSIDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: richmond hill
Posts: 11,467
Representing:
Default

if you dont have wireless, just grab an ethernet cable and plug one end into your modem and the other end into your PS3. presto!
INSIDER is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 03:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
summa!

怪獣
 
logicz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 884
Representing:
Default

steal your neigbors wireless connection and you set ... pop in cod4 add me on psn and get owned!
logicz is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 03:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
is all bout dat life

Can't knock the Hustle
 
Nites's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 14,224
Representing:
Default

A wired connection is more recommended over a wireless connection.
Nites is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 03:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
Captain of the Jamario Moon fan club.

Born Unready
 
Dark Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Electric Avenue
Posts: 15,473
Representing:
Default

How much is one of those ethernet cables?
Dark Knight is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 03:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
BOOBS

never too old.


 
INSIDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: richmond hill
Posts: 11,467
Representing:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Knight View Post
How much is one of those ethernet cables?
depends on the length.
you can get a 20 foot cable for 10 bucks.
INSIDER is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 03:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Captain of the Jamario Moon fan club.

Born Unready
 
Dark Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Electric Avenue
Posts: 15,473
Representing:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by INSIDER View Post
depends on the length.
you can get a 20 foot cable for 10 bucks.
Thats awsome!

Where can I get one?
Dark Knight is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 04:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
is dead inside

you ain't bout that life
 
Gurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21,059
Representing:
Default

Futureshop, bestbuy, etc. Pretty much any electronics store
Gurk is online now   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 04:57 PM   #17 (permalink)
representing the Big Land

basketball is life
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,415
Representing:
Default

Yeah use a wired connection it runs better. Or try to steal a connection off of your neighbours.

and LOL Raptorman

I use a 50 foot ethernet cable for my Xbox because I didn't want to buy the 80$ wireless adapter bullshit. It was like 30 bucks for the cable, so yeah go with that if you don't even have a router.
Chris is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 08:11 PM   #18 (permalink)
N64
not here

Wildcard Bitches
 
N64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7,612
Representing:
Default

i have bell sympatico internet and the modem is a router also so I don't have to spend extra for a wireless router...plus i don't have the hassle of setting everything up like WEP keys because it is already preset so I don't have to worry about people stealing my connection lol...got my ps3 set up in a few seconds
N64 is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 09:50 PM   #19 (permalink)
Captain of the Jamario Moon fan club.

Born Unready
 
Dark Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Electric Avenue
Posts: 15,473
Representing:
Default

Okay, I've got an ethernet cable!
Dark Knight is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 09:55 PM   #20 (permalink)
BOOBS

never too old.


 
INSIDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: richmond hill
Posts: 11,467
Representing:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Knight View Post
Okay, I've got an ethernet cable!
good.
now just stick one end in the modem or router, and the other into the back of your ps3, it should work like magic.

you may have to unplug it first thoughy, then wait 10 seconds and plug it back in... sometimes the modems are fishy that way.
INSIDER is offline   Boss Key Wife Key Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright RaptorsForum.com 2005-2011

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24