Originally Posted by XiaominWu
I'm pretty sure I've seen this discussion before and I believe your basket was legal.... I think the only place that is ruled a travel is the NBA.
Actually, I heard that the NBA changed the rule on that just this last year. It also judgement-based though. For example, if I did the same move but made it clear that I was trying to gain an advantage by "shooting" it over the rim (but really passing it), then it would be called a travel. But if it was a legit shot attempt, then it's legal even in the NBA.